Posted by: Fawn | January 27, 2009

Home from the Galapagos, First day back to work

 

In the past week I have many air miles, sea miles and land miles. It is pretty tiring to just travel to and from a vacation spot on top of trekking for 5 days in another country trying to pack every moment with something memorable. It was all very memorable and so worth it. My trip to Quito, Ecuador and The Galapagos islands was amazing and it reminded me how important it is to do things that make me happy because when I am unhappy my whole world crashes down around me and then I feel like what is the point.

 

During one of the excursions while I was looking at Blue footed boobies with their babies I started to feel all of these wonderful things. Like life is magical and even if it isn’t always magical for me in Philadelphia I have to keep in mind that there are magical things out there that make me feel positive and good about myself that I have to find and that has to be a priority. I felt so grateful to see birds that only exist just this one place in the world.

On this trip I felt in tune with the environment around me. I listened to my body, I felt strong, I ate when I was hungry I drank when I was thirsty. Many people may think that those things are simple to do but when you have severe depression even simple thoughtless tasks are difficult.

So anyway to wrap this up I feel like I have a fresh outlook and Im gonna try my hardest to hold on to it. Here are some photos from before the trip and during the trip.
Enjoy!

 

I ordered beef, not guinea pig

I ordered beef, not guinea pig

 

Packed some snacks for the flights so I didn't have to eat chips

Packed some snacks for the flights so I didn't have to eat chips

Got this new bag for the trip. It is a bit pink for my liking but has tons of compartments which is very important to me. It's called Elephunk

Got this new bag for the trip. It is a bit pink for my liking but has tons of compartments which is very important to me. It's called Elephunk

 

Land Iguana, Yuck! From our first Island stop on the trip, North Seymour

Land Iguana, Yuck! From our first Island stop on the trip, North Seymour

Sea lions were my favorite part of the trip. They are so amazing and funny! I have 1 million photos of them but don't worry I won't show all of them!

Sea lions were my favorite part of the trip. They are so amazing and funny! I have 1 million photos of them but don't worry I won't show all of them!

 

standing on the Equator

Standing in the northern and southern hemisphere at the same time. YAY! I was blinded by the sun.

 

Sunset for the first night on the cruise ship. Beautiful!

Sunset for the first night on the cruise ship. Beautiful!

This is a statue of the Virgin Mary that over looks the city of Quito, which was our first stop on the trip.

This is a statue of the Virgin Mary that over looks the city of Quito, which was our first stop on the trip.

To wrap up for the night this is what I ate today

Breakfast: Kashi heart to heart with 1/2 cup skim milk. not pictured

Lunch: whole grain bagel with guacamole cucumber slices and havarti cheese. I also had a dill pickle and half of a pear.

lunch

Lunch was was so good but made me feel so sick. Much like every single thing I eat. Must go to the doctor soon. I think, although I can’t be sure, I may have IBS…. damn.

Dinner: beef and bean burrito from my favorite Tex-Mex restaurant. I also had a few chips with salsa but they weren’t so good tonight. Again… made me sick. Might stop eating all together.

Tomorrows food pics may be pretty bland because I plan on eating bread and drinking water… that’s all.

Hope everyone is well and IBS free! Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

Categories

